top of page

IN THE HELMET - RED BUD



RED BUD from the Racers

We talked to several Michigan pro racers about their RedBud experience, here are theirthoughts as we bring you another edition of "In the Helmet" .


Photos By: Jessica Ten Hagen

 


450 Class

881 Jerry Lorenz 37th in Qualifying Moto Scores 36-40 = 40th Overall

Red bud was a struggle bus to say the least. Seven days before the race i had another mechanical with my Kawasakis and everyone around me decided we needed to make a change. So going into press day I had rode the new bike three times, and each time we had some kind of different setup with it. I was feeling good on it but knew that it was gonna be a struggle since we hadn't really had the chance to test it on a rough track. I felt good through press day but knew things were a little off. My dad and Matt Crown worked their butts off with this bike and myself trying to get to where I felt it needed to be. So Saturday started off alright, I was third fastest in the 450 B group which I wasn’t to happy with. Red Bud is always the biggest race of the year and has full classes so the B session was insane. I never got a clean lap in so I knew I could go faster. In the years pay the track actually gets faster but this year it was different. It was rough and about two-three seconds slower which wasn’t what I needed. So unfortunately I ended up thirty-seventh overall in qualifying and missing the motos by one spot. The LCQ was decent. I got a pretty good start and ran third until the last lap and had a little tip over. Fortunately I was still able to make the motos and be on the gate for my first National this year. The motos didn’t go so well. The track got beat and put set up on the bike was definitely way off for those conditions. I used the motos as a test session pulling into the mechanics area a few times to make changes to the bike. Its unfortunate I had to waste the motos doing that but I had to figure something out. So all in all it wasn’t the day I wanted but I can honestly say progress was made and we all know things that need to be done. I can’t thank Matt Crown and my dad enough for the countless hours of work they have done for me, and everyone else that supports me MCR suspension, Ziegler Motorsports, FXR, EVS, Spectro oils, Dunlop, 100%, Rekluse, FMF, Albright precision.


359 Edward (Eddy) Morris 65th in Qualifying

Well it’s RedBud! Overall was a good day. I took a lot of positives out of there. This was my first RedBud that I didn’t spend on the fence. I’ve been wanting to run this race for the last few years but it’s always been packed early on, just being a part of it was nice. First session wasn’t too bad just should of put down a good lap and of course jump LaRocco's leap which I didn’t get to do until the second session. Which I found out even with jumping the leap and actually putting down good laps was still slower than barely trying in the first session. The LCQ was exactly what you think it is cutthroat, a red flag on the first start and Luckily Chris Williams got up. Then the restart had a semi-decent start but I had to avoid some pile ups that put me back. So I think I charged up to 20th and felt like with my charge I had a top 15 or 10 finish, Instead I ended up doing a nice goon slide down one of the hills and crashing my brains out. Still didn’t break my spirits I went out and through some laps and did some 80's freestyle over LaRocco's leap. Thank you for the interview Michigan Motocross and thank you to all the fans that I can hear every lap going around that track you guys make my day!


290 Denver Rigsby 66th in Qualifying

RedBud is always a fun but it makes it more fun when the eyes and ears of your family and friends are on you. I tried to qualify In the 450 class on the 250 2 stroke and that made it hard trying to arch my lines with it being as deep as it was in the qualifying sessions so I never got a lap time that’s was close enough to get me straight in or for a good gate pick in the lcq. But I got got a good jump and was up front but they red flagged our race so we had to line back up, I didn’t know but my fork guard and holeshot device got ripped off. On the second jump there was a first turn pile up and I was in it. But I got back up and came back to 23rd. The track in the LCQ was so much fun there was so many lines it was technical. I got the chance to pit with the Bubba Burger guys huge thank you to Brent and Dane Rouse they made the experience one I will remember forever and Jordan Willis for always putting in 110% and making sure ready. Thank you to my dad for being positive and helping me with line choice and the bike, and my girlfriend for keeping me hydrated. But if it wasn’t for sponsors I wouldn’t be able to be where I am so thank you Hoosier tire, club mx, FXR racing, 100%, sc4 racing, real ink graphics, Motool, Championship powersports, Powerband racing, Tom Zont (TZR). These are memories I will hang on to forever and it all comes for the great place of RedBud


556 Taten Gilman 67th in Qualifying

Growing up, Redbud Pro National was always my biggest goal and I finally was blessed with the opportunity to give it a shot. I knew coming into the race, qualifying would be unlike anything I’ve ever done. Knowing that, I went to set a super hard sprint lap in qualifying and ended up crashing pretty hard, forcing me to go into the LCQ. The LCQ was pretty nerve wracking on the line, seeing the fences lined up, but I got a decent jump and pushed passed as many as I could on the first two laps and cruised it in for a 16th. Our goal was to get into the motos, but I was plenty satisfied with the 16th after riding the pace of the sports elite. Can’t wait till next year!



811 Christopher Williams 73rd in Qualifying

My first experience at RedBud pro national was great although I had a very severe crash that led me into the hospital. Alpinestars medics did a fine job in taking care of me. During my crash I had this motivation built by the crowd cheering me on to get up. Although the second qualifying practice seemed pointless to run for how difficult the track turned out, it was good to beat my arms up. I had fun enjoying the event with a lot of the D14 racers. Highlight of my race weekend was out of chance I got to do track walk with Mr. Eli Tomac, his father and girl as he gave me a few tips before the race.



595 Michael Kitzmiller 77th in Qualifying


It was simply a dream come true for me to have the chance to attempt to qualify for the red bud national. I really struggled in practice, I had good speed just could not throw a solid consistent lap together due to crashes and other small things that are simply on me. It was a major step in the right direction for me though compared to my first national at high point and I’m thankful for that. A lot of my family and friends got the chance to come and that was really cool to experience that with them as well. For the first time this year I had a blast racing my dirt bike! I want to thank Zeigler Motorsports for helping me get to these races along with my family, friends, girlfriend without them none of what I do would be possible and it’s a cool experience for all of us!

 


409 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page